You are here:   Cambria > Books > History of Cambria County, V.2
History of Cambria County, V.2

224 HISTORY OF CAMBRIA COUNTY.
    Aug. 31, Wednesday. Troops engaged in building fort in front of Strong's house and strengthening redan on left of plank road at Fort Hell (officially known as Fort Sedgwick).
    Sept. 1, Thursday. Quiet until about 8 p.m., when enemy's cavalry made a dash against our cavalry picket line, driving a portion of it in on the left of the Gurley house, * * * but was at once driven away by our cavalry and the line re-established.
    Sept. 2, Friday. Troops of Mott's division (Co. D, 110th P.V.) moved into new fort and rifle pits. A deserter was executed in the First Division today: shot.
    Sept. 3, Saturday. Rifle-pits completed between fort in front of Strong's house and Fort Crawford.
    Sept. 4, Sunday. At 11:45 our batteries opened according to orders from General Grant, firing a national salute of shot and shell from each battery into the rebel works.
    Sept. 5, Monday. Commenced throwing up breastworks and slashing timber in front. * * * Mott's division (Co. D) in front line.
    Sept. 6, Tuesday. First Division moved to left, its right resting on plank road near Williams' house; Second Division also moved to left, occupying fort on Norfolk road and covering ground to Blackwater.
    Sept. 7, Wednesday. Nothing of importance; usual artillery firing on front lines.
    Sept. 8, Thursday. No movements this day.
    Sept. 9, Friday. First and Second Divisions moved back in reserve-Second in vicinity of the Deserted House, First of Jones' house.
    Sept. 10, Saturday. In compliance with orders from corps headquarters three regiments of Mott's division (Co. D, 110th P.V.) advanced on the enemy's picket line at 1 a.m. in front of and to the left of Fort Hell, captured about one mile and a half of their line with 83 prisoners, and killing and wounding a number of the enemy. Sharp musketry all day and night between enemy's picket lines and ours, and from the redan on the left of Fort Hell; also heavy artillery firing.
    Sept. 11, Sunday. Nothing of importance; picket firing continues.
    Sept. 12, Monday. Usual picket firing in front of Fort Hell; quiet otherwise.
    Sept. 13, Tuesday. Nothing of importance.
    Sept. 14, Wednesday. Quiet until 5 p.m., when enemy shelled train on railroad near Fort Crawford; our batteries replied.
    Sept. 15, Thursday. All quiet except firing on picket line.
    Company D, 110th Pennsylvania, destroying the Weldon


Previous page Title Page Contents Image Next page

Created: 22 Mar 2003, Last Updated: 30 Mar 2008
Copyright © 2000-2003, All Rights Reserved
Lynne Canterbury, Diann Olsen and contributors